Applying in Person
To obtain a license to be married in Rhode Island, both parties must apply for the marriage license in person.
If both parties live in Rhode Island, you may apply for the marriage license at the city or town hall where either party resides.
If only one party lives in Rhode Island, you must apply for a marriage license from the city or town hall where the Rhode Island Resident resides.
If neither party lives in Rhode Island, you must apply for a marriage license from the city or town hall of the city or town where the marriage ceremony will be performed.
Minor's Permit to Marry
A Minor’s Permit to marry must be completed if a female applicant is 16 or 17 years of age or if either party is under the control of a legal guardian.
The permit should be signed and notarized in the presence of the city or town clerk, or any clerk employed in that office. If this is not possible, please contact the Division of Vital Records for instructions.
A female under age 16 and a male under 18 may not secure a marriage license in the state of Rhode Island without the approval of the Family Court.
If either applicant has been previously married and the previous marriage ended in divorce, such applicant must present a certified copy of the final decree of divorce to the city or town clerk.
If either applicant has been previously married and the previous marriage ended in death, a certified copy of the death record should be presented to the city or town clerk.
Proof of Birth Facts
Proof of birth facts must be supplied in the form of a certified copy of the birth certificates of both the parties.
Marriage Without U.S Citizenship
For persons born outside the United States who cannot obtain a birth record, a passport or alien card may be accepted.
Both parties must personally sign the marriage license in the presence of the city or town clerk or his or her assistant, attesting to the truth of the information listed thereon.
No information on the marriage license may be changed by the parties after the marriage license is issued. If any information is in error, the parties should contact the Division of Vital Records at 401-222-2812 after the marriage record has been filed.
The fee for a marriage license is $24. Checks should be made payable to the Town of North Kingstown.
Marriage Equality Laws
To learn about the Marriage Equality requirements for Rhode Island, visit the Department of Health website.